Together for tomorrow


Twyg Sustainable Fashion Awards 2022 winners are announced

by | Nov 18, 2022

Twyg announced this year’s Sustainable Fashion Awards winners on 17 November 2022 at the Mount Nelson hotel in Cape Town.  Designers and brands were awarded for their implementation of sustainable, ethical, circular and regenerative design.

The over all winner is Cleo Droomer who won the Changemaker Award presented by Country Road. This award, which is not open for entries is presented to a designer whose career has embraced sustainable and circular design practices. The winners with the highest scores in the design categories (Student, Accessory, Trans-seasonal, Coutts, Innovative Design and Materials Award) were judged against the criteria set for the Changemaker Award. Cleo has been awarded R100 000.00 by Country Road. Cleo also won the Innovative Design and Materials Award presented by Polo South Africa.

“With over 100 entries, we are proud to present this year’s winners.” says Jackie May, founder and editor of Twyg. After a week-long judging process, 27 finalists were selected and 10 category winners were announced.

The judges for this year are Omoyemi Akerele, Mimma Viglezio, Esethu Cenga, Dr Sipho Mbatha, Fabia Pryor, Nisha Kanabar and Sharon Armstrong.

Twyg would like to give a special thank you to our sponsors for the Sustainable Fashion Awards this year: Country Road, Levis South Africa, Polo South Africa , SKYY Vodka, Mount Nelson (a Belmond hotel), Curbon, PETCO, Hotel Verde, Goethe Institute, Electric South, British Council, Cape Heritage Hotel, Eco Standard South Africa, Spier and Sunday Times Lifestyle.

The winners of the Sustainable Fashion Awards 2022 are as follows:

Accessory Award: This award recognises an accessory brand that implements ethical labour practices, limits toxic chemicals and uses sustainable materials to create a quality item and considers end-of-life. The winner of this category is PICHULIK.

Innovative Design and Materials Award presented by Polo South Africa:  This award is presented to a designer who has used innovative techniques to reduce fashion’s negative impact and shows commitment to using sustainable fabrics. The winner of this category is Droomer.

Nicholas Coutts Award: This award honours the talented young designer Nicolas Coutts. Nicholas, who beautifully used and explored traditional crafts and techniques in his design, tragically lost his life at the beginning of 2019. This award is presented to a designer who uses artisanal craft techniques such as weaving, embroidery or botanical dyeing to make fashion that foregrounds, celebrates and values the skills of the people who make the garments. The winner of this category is Laaniraani, who wins R10 000 from Nicholas’ family.

Student Award from Levi’s South Africa: This award is presented to a student who has produced a garment or collection that addresses the challenges of sustainability in the most exciting and beautiful way. The winner of this category is Aidan Peters.

Textiles or Mills Award: This award is presented to a South African textile maker or mill that uses natural, regenerative fibres, non-toxic dyes and finishes, and closed-loop systems. The winner of this category is ZURI and IMANI. 

Trans-seasonal Award: This award is presented to a collection, garment or brand that promotes trans-seasonal, multi-functionality and versatile style. The winner of this category is The BAM collective.

Retail Award: This award is presented to a retailer or retailing initiative that enhances sustainability, including pre-loved/gently worn, swap shops, garment rental, and similar activities. The winner of this category is Merchants on Long.

CMT or Manufacturer Award: This award is presented to a ‘cut, make and trim’ factory or manufacturer of clothes or accessories that is socially and environmentally conscious and/or whose business practices are socially and environmentally responsible. The winner of this category is Sparrow Society.

Influencer Award: This award is presented to a personality or think-fluencer who has actively promoted slow, sustainable fashion over the last 12 months and who has sparked relevant conversations. This person has also explained sustainable issues factually and has cautioned against harming nature on social media and other platforms. The winner of this category is Khensani Mohlatlole.

All category winners receive an assessment from Eco Standard South Africa.

Cleo, who is travelling in Egypt, was unable to attend the event. Here is a clip of him receiving the news of his award. Feature image of guests, keynote speaker Renée Neblett (seated second from left and winner of the Influencer Award, Khensani Mohlatlole.


Share this article:

Related Posts

Our work is in line with the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals 12, which aims to ensure sustainable consumption and production. Read More